New Zealand dollar conversion

Use the search box to find your required metric converter

New Zealand dollar


  • The Kiwi

Worldwide use:

  • New Zealand


The currency of New Zealand is the New Zealand Dollar. One Dollar is subdivided into 100 Cents. The New Zealand Dollar or NZ$ was introduced on the 10th July 1967. Currently the 10th most traded currency in the world, the currency is available in 10c, 20c, 50c, $1 and $2 coins and $5, $10, $20, $50 and $100 banknotes.

The NZ$, also informally known as the Kiwi, is used by 5 territories; The Cook Islands, Niue, Pitcairn Islands, Ross Dependency and Tokelau.


The New Zealand Dollar was introduced in 1967 to replace the old Shilling and Pence system. Many names were suggested for the new denomination but in the end the Dollar was used, with the addition of NZ$ to distinguish it from other Dollar denominated countries.

Component units:

  • Cent (100)

Date introduced:

  • 10th July 1967

Central bank:

  • Reserve Bank of New Zealand


  • Note Printing Australia


  • The Royal Mint and the Royal Mint of Canada