Czech koruna conversion

Use the search box to find your required metric converter

Czech koruna


  • Haléř
  • Haléře
  • Koruna česká
  • Koruny české
  • Czech Crown
  • Hellers

Worldwide use:

  • Czech Republic


The Czech Koruna has been the official currency of the Czech Republic since its creation in 1993. One Czech Koruna is worth 100 Haléřů. Coins come in denominations of 1, 2, 5, 10, 20 and 50 Kč and banknotes are printed in 10, 20, 500, 1000 and 2000 Kč. 5000 Kč banknotes also exist but are not often used. 

There were plans for the Czech Republic to take on the Euro in 2012, but this plan was abandoned in 2007 due to public opinion being in favor of keeping the Czech Koruna.


The Czech Koruna was first established in 1993 when the Czech Republic claimed its independence. Coins were minted in haléřů and korun but haléřů coins were later withdrawn due to their minuscule value. Banknotes were simply over stamped Czechoslovak Koruna notes until an official set was circulated in 1993. This was done with sticky stamps which showed the new denomination in Roman and Arabic.

Component units:

  • Haléře (100)

Date introduced:

  • 8 February 1993

Central bank:

  • Czech National Bank